Traffic Violations

Home/Municipal Court/Traffic Violations
Traffic Violations 2017-02-16T15:23:32+00:00

Payment of Fines

A traffic citation has been issued against you. If you have been charged with one of the listed offenses and have not been convicted of two or more violations during the preceding 12 months and would like to plead guilty and pay the fine, please mail, call, or hand deliver the full amount indicated to the address below. Note: Fine and cost are required, even when paying prior to court. See Section 4 on the back of your ticket. All fines and court costs are to be paid to the City of Phenix City, Alabama.

Clerk of Municipal Court
1111 Broad St.
Phenix City, AL 36867

Drop Box

In lieu of mailing your payment, or if you are unavailable to appear in person between the hours of 7 a.m. and 5 p.m., Eastern Time, there is a 24-hour drop box located inside the lobby of the Phenix City Public Safety Building:
1111 Broad St.
Phenix City, AL 36867

Payment In Person

Payments made in person must be made by the offender. You may pay in person between the hours of 7 a.m. and 5 p.m., Eastern Time, at the Phenix City Public Safety Building. Payment must be received no later than 24 hours before the court date shown on the ticket. You do not have to wait until your court date to pay the ticket.

Payment By Phone

Payment by phone can be made by calling 334-448-2780. Please note that the only forms of payment accepted by phone are credit or debit transactions.

Accepted Forms of Payment

  • Payment by Mail or Drop Box: Money Order, Cashier’s Check, or Personal Check payable to Clerk of Municipal Court
    Make sure the ticket is signed before mailing or dropping off your payment.
    Payment must be received no later than 24 hours before the court date shown on the ticket.
  • Payment In Person: Cash, Credit / Debit, Money Order, Cashier’s Check, or Personal Check payable to Clerk of Municipal Court
    Payment must be received no later than 24 hours before the court date shown on the ticket.
  • Payment By Phone: Credit / Debit
    Payment must be received no later than 24 hours before the court date shown on the ticket.

Request a Trial

If you would like a trial on one of the listed charges, you should call the Clerk of Court to set your case for a trial date. The trial will be in the Public Safety Building, 1111 Broad Street, Second Floor, Phenix City, Alabama at 8:30 a.m., Eastern Time. If you do not appear in court the date your hearing is set, you may have to pay a substantially greater fine if found guilty of the offense charged or if guilty of failing to appear in court. Failing to appear will result in the issuance of a warrant for your arrest.

Violations & Fines

Effective 11-26-2016

Charges not listed require a court appearance. If you are unsure if your violation requires a mandatory court appearance, please call 334-448-2780.

Traffic Violation Fine
Cost Total
Stopping on Highway (32-5A-136)(a) $30 $180 $210
Driving Wrong Side Road (32-5-77) $30 $180 $210
Failure to Dim Headlights (32-5-242)(C)(1) $10 $180 $190
Failure to Stop at RR Crossing (32-5A-150) $10 $180 $190
Unattended Motor Vehicle (32-5A-50) $25 $180 $205
Failure to Yield Right of Way (32-5A-110) $20 $180 $200
Failure to Maintain Single Lane of Traffic (32-5A-88) $25 $180 $205
One-Way Street (32-5A-87) $20 $180 $200
Improper Backing (32-5-72)/(32-5A-51) $20 $180 $200
Following Too Closely (32-5A-89) $20 $180 $200
Improper Brakes (32-5-212) $20 $180 $200
Improper Lights (32-5-240) $20 $180 $200
Improper Muffler (32-5-216) $10 $180 $190
Improper Signal (32-5A-133) $10 $180 $190
Improper Passing (32-5A-84) $20 $180 $200
Improper or No Rear View Mirror (32-5-214) $20 $180 $200
Improper Tires (32-5-210) $20 $180 $200
Improper Window Tinting (32-5C-2) $20 $180 $200
Improper Use of Clearly Indicated Divided Highway (32-5A-90) $30 $180 $210
No Passing Zone (32-5A-86) $20 $180 $200
Improper Turn (32-5A-133) $20 $180 $200
Improper (Expired) Tag (32-6-65) $25 $180 $205
Switched Personalized License Plates (32-6-155) $100 $180 $280
No Helmet (Motorcycle rider)(32-5A-245) $10 $180 $190
Running Red Light (32-5A-31) $20 $180 $200
Running Stop Sign (32-5A-112) $20 $180 $200
Speeding (32-5A-171) – Less than 25 MPH over posted speed $20 $180 $200
Speeding (32-5A-171) – 25 MPH or more over posted speed $40 $180 $220
Reasonable/Prudent Speed (32-5A-170) $20 $180 $200
Fail to yield emergency vehicle (32-5A-115) $50 $180 $230
Littering on Highway (32-5A-60) $100 $180 $280
Crossing Fire Hose (32-5A-59) $50 $180 $230
No Red or Orange Flag or Red Light or Amber Strobe (32-5-211) $20 $180 $200
Failure to Wear Safety Belt (32-5B-4) $25 $16 $41
Failure to Use Child Restraint (32-5-222) $25 $180 $205
Spilling Load (32-5-76)(a) $25 $180 $205